Jobster: Good Idea?

Is recruiting ripe for something new or better? You might think so. Craigslist was the last really useful and different way.

So you might think Social-Networking-Meets-Recruiting is timely. Linkedin, the most prevalent business network has added jobs to make money, but what every job board learns is: you are only as good as your volume. So far Linkedin has been disappointing. But we’ll keep trying because we like the concept and it’s inexpensive.

Jobster, on the other hand, started as a recruiting-networking concept, right off the bat. Nice idea but bad business model. Why do businesses continue to make it hard for customers to check out their services and buy? Jobster fails for three glaring reasons:

1. Make it easy to learn about the product. Go to jobster.com and two clicks later an employer like me is reading the Jobster Solution. But what exactly does it do? It still seems unclear so I guess I better click on demo. There’s an option to enter my contact info. No thanks. Click on Tour. In the first 30 seconds I learn that Jobster is a whole new way of recruiting, that I can proactively recruit non-job seekers, that scads of recruiters have helped design it, and that the CEO is willing to roll up his sleeves to work with me. I feel great. That’s really sweet of him. But I’m a typical employer: I’m in a hurry, I need people yesterday, and how do I get started? How do I cut through this marketing crap?

2. Make it easy to sign up. Clicking on “Get started” is where things go South fast. I have to fill out a form, and submit an email. And give them my phone number. That sucks but hey, they’ll send me a password and I’ll get started, right? Think again. I get an email saying “The future of hiring technology has arrived and Jobster is leading the way. If you have questions or would like a demonstration contact us at…” Grrrrr. Where is my password?! Let me at this thing! I want to try on the flared pants, and if they fit, hey, I’m buying. But I have to call them and speak to a sales person! Here comes Telesales Death. Direct sales means high prices. But I’m dying to check out “the future of hiring technology”…

3. Give people a free or cheap way to evaluate, if it needs any explaining. Simple products are simple to test out. But things like software and this “new way” of recruiting are tricky. Guess what Jobster costs? $295 per month. But that’s deceiving because Gary Thede, the helpful sales rep at Jobster tells me it takes at least 90 days to see any result. Even then, he agrees when I say this is a $4,000 decision because signing up for a year is what it takes to build your network. Just look at how long Linkedin is taking to gain steam. And that is if Jobster even succeeds. Which is yet to be proved.

Which takes me back to the web fact: you are only as good as your volume. The other fact in recruiting is: Craigslist charges $75 and is the most effective job board. If you have a “new way” and a great idea, which Jobster just might have, then you better face economic realities: teach me online quickly simply, make the barrier to signing up low, and let me try it out for free or for peanuts. Make it fly off the shelves. When I see the deal, make me go “Wow”. Unfortunately Jobster is the opposite: hard to understand, hard to sign up for, way too expensive, and laden with an expensive sales force. I wish Jobster well though because it’s a good idea.

One response to “Jobster: Good Idea?

  1. There is a service out there called NetHire (www.nethireusa.com in the US and http://www.nethire.ca in Canada. We have used it and it is fantastic. It is what i think this jobster was supposed to be. Our single job posting for an HVAC Commercail Sales Mananger brought over 130 good quality applicants. We have a division In Calgary AB that was using them and doing well so we gave it a try. We had already tried Craigslist. Monster and Careerbuilder and got no suitable candidates. Our jobs showed up on hundreds of job baords and at least 20 appicants said they got the information from a tweet and 12 from Facebook. Cost was $500, so more expensive than craigslist but they marketed the job in MN, IL and Des Moines. Over all really good deal as we were heading for using a recruiter and they wanted 22% of annual salary so we look at it as we saved $21,000! Our hire is fantastic and he paid for himself the first few days he was here. You can’t cheap out when you are looking for great people.
    We are now doing all our recruiting with them and have not been disappointed once. I think you should check itout.

Leave a Reply

